Fiction and Lies

A good fiction novel needs to have a few lies in it. Namely the lead character needs to believe a lie and learn to overcome that lie. This article is a great one for novelists.

 

If y’all have been around me for more than ten minutes-okay five minutes, you know I’ll start talking about writing, and if I start on writing, I’ll move into motivation pronto. That’s because through mentors and classes I’ve taken, I’ve learned that’s the foundation of great characters and plotting.

The first one was Rachel Hauck, who asked, “What’s his problem?”

“He doesn’t need one. He’s not a POV character.”

“He does.”

Okay. When I found it, my protag’s goal and motivation became clearer. Click here to learn more.

Kelly and Nancy

Leave a Reply

