A Faith Tested, Part Three

A Faith Tested, Part Three

 

Opening a file on the table she scanned it before looking up at us. “Well, I’m going to give you a little background into the birth mother. First of all she is married, but the baby isn’t her husband’s. He has been away and she would rather he didn’t find out about it. She has a child at home with him, and this baby came as somewhat of a surprise.”

Taking a deep breath, I processed the information. “Does her family know about the baby?”

“I don’t believe so, but you are welcome to ask her.”

We all turned toward the door when a young woman in her early twenties walked in. She looked nervous but offered up a friendly hello.

Over the next hour we talked about a hundred different things. What our likes and dislikes were, to what our favorite foods were. Before we had left we exchanged our information and set a date for another meeting.  My husband and I left feeling hopeful and happy for the first time in a long time.

As the next few months flew by, we met with the young mother several times. She gave up pictures of the ultra sound and we hung them on the refrigerator. We found out that it was a little girl and everything was going great. The birth mother wanted to have us in the delivery room with her and asked us to pick out a name that she could begin calling her by.

As the due date got closer, my friends and family threw us a baby shower. We had her room all ready and we were on call day and night. When the call came that the birth mother was in labor, we rushed to the hospital. Both my husband and I were nervous but excited to meet her. With the final push out she came, a head full of hair and lusty cry. The birth mother asked my husband to cut the cord and with tears in his eyes he did. The first time I held her, was a moment I’ll never forget.

Later that night as the baby went to the nursery and the birth mother was resting, we said our goodbyes and promised to be back first thing in the morning. It was a long day but we had a daughter, we joked about how tonight would be our last night in a long time to sleep. I laughed thinking I wasn’t sure if I could sleep, I was too excited. I wanted to stay at the hospital but the nurses told me it would be better for me to go home and get some rest.

The next morning as the first rays of sunshine began to light the sky, my husband and I were both up and dressed. We got to the hospital around seven am and were told to wait in the waiting room, because our case worker was coming down to get us. We figured it was just a formality. When Susan walked through the doors we jumped up and rushed towards her. We had brought some flowers for the birth mom along with an outfit for the baby and her car seat. I was so preoccupied with seeing the baby that I didn’t really look to closely at Susan until she asked us to sit back down.

Her face was grim. “Art, Rhonda…”

To be continued…..

Kelly

Leave a Reply

