A Faith Tested, Part Two

A Faith Tested, Part Two

The next few months crawled by as we went through our daily lives. I was teaching and each day after work I went home to an empty house. My husband and I tried to keep the faith that another birth mother would pick us as we anxiously waited for word from the adoption agency.

It was a Tuesday when I received another call from the adoption agency. School had just let out for the summer and I was at home. I don’t remember what I was doing exactly when the phone rang but I saw that it was the adoption agency on caller ID.

I tried to calm my nerves. “Hello”

“Hi, this is Susan from the adoption agency,” said the pleasant voice on the other end.

I was sweating now. “Hi Susan.”

“I’m calling because I have good news. You have been selected by a birth mother.”

My heart beat fast now. “We have, that’s wonderful.”

The voice on the other end was soothing. “She loved your profile and really wants to meet you.”

I tried to remain calm though inside I was jumping for joy. “Yes, of course when?”

“Does next Tuesday at 7 p.m. work?”

I turned and scanned the calendar on my counter. “That’s fine, we’ll be there.”

My hand was shaking slightly as I penciled in the time on the calendar. “Thank you for calling.”

The voice on the other end paused. “We really hope this is a better experience for you. We’ll see you next week.”

Hanging up the phone, I smiled thinking, this time will be better, I know it. I picked up the phone again and dialed my husband’s number only to get his voice mail. I left a vague message hoping he would call right away.

The next few days dragged by for me. Not having to go to work each day made the wait agony. When Tuesday night finally arrived, I was on pins and needles. I worried about what to wear, how my hair looked, really insignificant things now that I think back on it.

My legs were shaking as I got out of the car. My husband came around and gently put his arm around me. “We can do this,” he whispered in my ear.

As we entered into the office building, the receptionist greeted us and led us to a small room down the hall. The birth mother wasn’t there yet, but would be arriving soon, we were told.  Too nervous to sit, I paced the room.

When our counselor walked in, she smiled at me and the worn carpet path was creating. “Hi Art and Rhonda, I’m so glad you could make it tonight.”

She sat down in one of the chairs gesturing for me to do the same. “Hi Susan, is she here yet? Do we look alright?”

Her smile was bright as she chuckled. “Yes, you both look fine, don’t worry. The birth mother picked your profile, so she already likes you.”

I tried to share in her optimism, but I was still nervous. Sitting in the chair next to my husband I smiled back. “I know, it’s silly, I’m just nervous.”

She reached across the table and patted my hand. “It’s completely understandable.”

I was grateful she understood. “What do we do?”

To be continued…..

Kelly

Leave a Reply

