A Faith Tested Part One

Thanksgiving

In this time of giving and remembering what we are thankful for, I would just like to give a shout out to all the parents that have adopted kiddos out there, thank you, and to all the birth mom’s myself included thank you too. Life is such a beautiful thing to share and it brings happiness to so many people.

 

I had a lot of positive feedback from people on my Heaven Sent Miracles series and would like to introduce another adoption story.  I have changed the names on this one, but the story is true. I hope you like it. I titled it  A Faith Tested.

A Faith Tested

               Imagine my joy when I received a call from the adoption agency telling me that a birth mother had picked us. The adoption agency had warned us it could take up to two years, so you can picture our surprise when two months later we received that call. We quickly scheduled the home inspection and tried to get ourselves ready for the baby, who was due to arrive at any time. A few nights later we got the call we had been waiting for, the birth mother was in labor. Scrambling to get the last minute things together we raced around the house in our excitement, this was it, we were finally going to be parents.

In that moment the past two years of miscarriages and failed fertility treatments were all but forgotten. We had a daughter waiting for us.  It’s hard to convey what I was thinking in those first minutes, I remember being nervous and thinking what if I’m not a good mother. I never thought that I wouldn’t be able to love a child that wasn’t biologically mine. I knew I could and I already thought of her as my daughter, it was more of what if I wasn’t meant to be a parent and that was why God hadn’t allowed me to carry a baby to term. It’s crazy how things run through your head and then suddenly you’re fine. It was as we were walking out the door that the phone rang. My husband ran back in to get it and when he returned his face was pale and his eyes were full of sadness, I knew something terrible was wrong.

He walked slowly over to me and put his arms around me. “That was the adoption agency. The birth mother has changed her mind about adoption.”

As tears began to pool and cascade down my cheeks, I didn’t know what to say. “I guess we knew there was always that possibility.” I finally managed to get out. I was heartbroken as we stood in driveway holding each other.

With tears in his eyes, my husband pulled back to look at me. “The adoption agency … said” he sighed, “we have a higher priority now, but it still hurts.”

I nodded, tears still falling. “I guess it wasn’t meant to be.”

It was one thing for me to be in pain over it, but to see my husband so torn up about it, really brought me to my knees.

Wiping at the tears streaming down his face he tried to smile. “God has a baby out there for us, I know it.”

I really wished I had had his confidence in that moment. Without another word we grabbed the car seat we had just purchased and the new diaper bag and walked back inside the house. We weren’t going to be parents today but there was always hope for another day.

To be continued.

Kelly

Leave a Reply

