Adopt with Honesty

Honesty is the Key to a Good Adoption Experience

I have heard of, and met people who are reluctant to tell their adopted child that they are adopted. My advice is to not go down that road.

Don’t fall into the temptation of pretending that you gave birth to the child. Eventually the child will find out, and when they do, it will damage their relationship with you.

092

I’m not saying that you must reveal to everyone that your child is adopted, but when it is in the best interest of the child, don’t be afraid to tell.

I am a short lady. My son has always been tall for his age. I would have mere acquaintances question why that was. They were being nosey and there was no reason for me to give them that information.

I would smile and say, “His father is much taller than I am.” This was the truth, but usually would shut the conversation down. Ask the Lord to give you wisdom on these matters, and He will.

A Diamond in the Rough,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

