Infertility-No Period Can I Still Get Pregnant?

Infertility

One issue that I have run into as well as many other women trying to get pregnant is the lack of a period. I was never regular even as a teen. My doctor at the time put me on the pill in the hope of regulating my periods. I don’t know if that might have done more harm than good though, studies are pretty mixed in that department.

What is the pill though, basically hormones being put into your body to stimulate your ovaries and a few other things. What happens when that doesn’t work though? I went almost a year without a period, I had tests done and ultra sounds to check my ovaries to look for cysts a common problem and nothing.

What I found out though is that yes, it is possible to ovulate without having a period. It’s not as common but it is possible.

 

A Dusty Diamond,

Kelly

One comment on “Infertility-No Period Can I Still Get Pregnant?

  1. Great topic! Something girls she be learning about as they become young women! I didn’t understand the whole menstrual cycle and reproductive cycle until much too late in life and I, also, was told to go on the bill to ensure a monthly cycle. There are so many problems with the pill, and yet once again we have Doctors who prescribe meds to deal with “symptoms” not the real problem. From LaLeche “womanly art of Breadtfeeding” 7th addition states the following: Almost all mothers who are fully Breadtfeeding are free of menstrual periods for the first six months (of giving birth). Lactational amenorrhea is a normal, healthy part of the female reproductive cycle. Women who bear only two or three children during their reproductive years come to think of their monthly menstrual cycle as normal and the period of lactation am amenorrhea as departure from the norm. However, going years without having a period is probably what women’s bodies were meant to do. Mothers in traditional hunter-gathering cultures nursed each baby and enjoyed long periods of lactational amenorrhea. When their periods returned, they would become pregnant again, and might be another three years before they had a menstrual period (9 month pregnancy, added to the months following nursing the baby). As a result, these women experienced far fewer menstrual periods in their lifetime. Scientists believe that extended periods of lactational amenorrhea may help to explain lower rates of ovarian, endometrial, and breast cancer found in women who breastfed. The absence of the repeated hormonal ups and downs of regular menstrual cycles may leave he breasts and reproductive organs less vulnerable to cancer.

    I sure wish I had found this out sooner instead of waiting until age 30 to start trying for a baby, and because of the hormonal problems brought on by the pill, my body did not know how to ovulate on its own. It took almost a year from getting off of the pill to get pregnant. Now, my faithful Lord Jesus has blessed us with three children, and one in heaven. I see having babies as a health benefit to the mothers body.

Leave a Reply

