The Ups and Downs of Being Adopted

Pros And Cons Of Being Adopted

 

Being adopted isn’t so bad half the time. All those hereditary things that your parents and their biological children must face are not a worry for you. But, the downside is that you may not know what is hereditary from your own biological parents. The questions they have the birth parents fill out is very basic, height, weight, ethnic background and number of siblings that kind of thing.

I was looking at my adoption papers and it’s amazing how little they tell me. I know that both of my parents completed high school, my grandparents on my mother’s side knew nothing about my birth mother’s pregnancy. I know I have two uncles and two aunts out there somewhere.

I go back and forth about finding them. I guess I would like to know where I come from yet do understand if they want no contact with me. I don’t know what I’ll do.

I’m 37 now and wonder if I want to open that can of worms after all this time? We’ll see.

A Dusty Diamond,
Kelly

Leave a Reply

